Skip to main content

Bunny Bertram Memorial

Established in 1974, this annual slalom race is held at Suicide Six Ski Area in honor of Wallace “Bunny” Bertram. Bunny not only owned Suicide Six from 1936 to 1961 (he sold it to the Rockefellers!) but he is credited with developing the first continuously operating ski tow in the United States. Bunny also pioneered the first NASTAR type races, developed the first certification test for ski instructors in 1948 and installed the first poma type lift for New England in 1954. He also assisted in setting up the first youth racing program in America.

The Bunny Bertram Award is presented to the three fastest men and women overall.

Year Men Women
2019 Matt Dodge Cinthia Audet
  Eric Vitiello Eliza Phillips
  Mark George Nadine Price
2018 Matt Dodge Jackie Levy
  David Lozeau Margaret Vaughn
  Terence Fogarty Cynthia Berlack